Managing Oneself

Managing Oneself

We live in an age of unprecedented opportunity: with ambition, drive, and talent, you can rise to the top of your chosen profession regard of where you started out.

But with opportunity comes responsibility.

Companies today aren't managing their knowledge workers careers.

In Managing Oneself, Peter Drucker explains how to do it.

Managing Oneself identifies the probing questions you need to ask to gain the insights essential for taking charge of your career.

Peter Drucker was a writer, teacher, and consultant.

Drucker Foundation for Nonprofit Management, and counseled 13 governments, public services institutions, and major corporations.

Reviews of the Managing Oneself

Suggested Reading & Listening Business TED Talks: The Official TED Guide to Public Speaking, by Chris Anderson The 4-Hour Workweek, by Timothy Ferriss Blink, by Malcolm Gladwell David and Goliath, by Malcolm Gladwell The Tipping Point, by Malcolm Gladwell What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures, by Malcolm Gladwell Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us, by Seth Godin The $100 Startup, by Chris Guillebeau Side Hustle, by Chris Guillebeau Outwitting the Devil, by Napoleon Hill Think and Grow Rich, by Napoleon Hill Blue Ocean Strategy, by W. Senge Start With Why, by Simon Sinek Scrum, by Jeff Sutherland Networking Is a Contact Sport, by Joe Sweeney Hit Makers, by Derek Thompson Career The New Rules of Work, by Alexandra Cavoulacos and Kathryn Minshew Mastery, by Robert Greene Business Model You, by Alexander Osterwalder, Tim Clark, and Yves Pigneur The Element, by Ken Robinson Getting There, by Gillian Zoe Segal Change Transitions: Making sense of Lifes Changes, by William Bridges Switch, by Chip Heath and Dan Heath Change Anything, by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan, and Al Switzler Communication If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?, by Alan Alda The Lost Art of Listening, Second Edition, by Michael P. Pink Why We Work, by Barry Schwartz The Happiness Track, by Emma Seppala Writing On Writing, by Stephen King The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition, by William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White Blogs Dave Asprey blog.bulletproof.com/ Leo Babauta: zenhabits.net/ Tim Ferriss: tim.blog/ Seth Godin: sethgodin.typepad.com/ Chris Guillebeau: chrisguillebeau.com/ Lara Callender Hogan: larahogan.me/blog/ Steve Kamb (Nerd Fitness): nerdfitness.com/ Mark Manson: markmanson.net/archive The Muse: themuse.com/advice Paula Pant: affordanything.com/blog/ Gary Vaynerchuk: garyvaynerchuk.com/blog/ My blog: andrewjwilt.com/blog Podcasts The James Altucher Show: jamesaltucher.com/category/the-james-... Marketplace: marketplace.org/ Ana Melikian's Mindset Zone: anamelikian.com/mindsetzone/ NPRs How I Built This: npr.org/podcasts/510313/how-i-built-this NPRs Modern Love: npr.org/podcasts/469516571/modern-love NPRs Planet Money: npr.org/planetmoney NPR's TED Radio Hour: npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/ Optimal Finance Daily: optimallivingdaily.com/category/optim... Optimal StartUp Daily: optimallivingdaily.com/category/optim...

Writing Process for improving by feedback analysis (find out your strengths in up to 2 years): 1. 2. Work on improving your strengths. 3. When I'm working with a group of people I will make sure our values are aligned. I will also keep in mind in the future, that if people's values are not similar to mine, I can always find other people who's are.

A person can perform only from strength. The only way to discover your strengths is through feedback analysis. Work on improving your strengths 3. But work hard to improve the way you perform. Given my strengths, my way of performing, and my values, how can I make the greatest contribution to what needs to be done? To be effective you have to know the strengths, the performance modes and the values of your coworkers. Personality conflicts arise from the fact that people do not know: - what other people are doing - how they do their work - what contribution the other people are concentrating on - what results they expect Do this with everyone you work with: "This is what I am good at. This is the contribution I plan to concentrate on and the results I should be expected to deliver." Q to ask: "And what do I need to know about your strengths, how you perform, your values, and your proposed contribution?" THE SECOND HALF OF YOUR LIFE Three way to develop a second career: 1.

This book is a great reminder on how to be a better person.

Drucker aborda la cuestiĆ³n que todos podemos hacernos sobre nuestros trabajos, y que casi ninguno nos hacemos.

Peter Ferdinand Drucker was a writer, management consultant and university professor. After spending four years in London, in 1937 he moved permanently to the United States, where he became a university professor as well as a freelance writer and business guru.

  • English

  • Business

  • Rating: 4.11
  • Pages: 72
  • Publish Date: January 7th 2008 by Harvard Business Review Press
  • Isbn10: 142212312X
  • Isbn13: 9781422123126