Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestlers The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller.

Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich eraand a true believeruntil he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insiders view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called the vast right-wing conspiracy.

Reviews of the Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

This book is the Rosencranz and Guildenstern are Dead of 1980s and 1990s Washington D.C. It's a story of U.S. politics during the George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton administrations told from the view of a man who wrote influential Anita Hill takedowns and the article that launched Troopergate, in addition to a lot of other, similar material. He moved to D.C. and joined the staff of the conservative The Washington Times after graduation, and then later joined The American Spectator, during which time, as he describes in this engaging, sobering, and clarifying memoir, he worked with a number of conservative lobbyists, lawyers, millionaires and billionaires, political operatives, politicians, and private investigators to publish apocryphal stories that would help get Clarence Thomas (the 5th vote in Bush v. Many of the pro-Thomas, anti-Clinton individuals that Brock meets, works, and socializes with come across as extraordinarily craven, hypocritical, morally and ethically absent, downright looney (but also, in Brock's telling, pitiable). On the strength of sales of his first book, The Real Anita Hill, Brock received a $1 million advance in 1995 from Simon & Schuster's Free Press to write a hit job on Hillary Clinton. Booted out of a movement he had come to despise, Brock rebuilt his personal and professional life from scratch, wrote a private letter of apology to Anita Hill, and a public one to Bill Clinton. Here is what Brock writes about the relationship between the kind of politics he practiced in the 1980s and 1990s and voting: Since coming to Washington in 1986, in the next dozen years that I worked so zealously as a movement conservative, I never once took the time to vote. In some hacked emails, Colin Powell accused Hillary Clinton of "hubris" and being "greedy." Powell's work on behalf of the Iraq War is the very definition of hubris. The New York Times never uses the word greed in this 2001 article: Powell's Wealth Now Over $28 Million Since his retirement from the military seven years ago, Gen. Colin L. Bush's choice for secretary of state, earned $6.7 million in speaking fees last year in 109 appearances around the country, the records show. Whatever the future holds, a lesson and next step might lie in the place where Brock's story turned years ago: In finding Hillary Clinton's humanity, I was beginning to find my own.

Instead, he is merely left-wing hit man now, which is moving down in the order of things, rather than improving. Most of the book discusses the authors double life as a neo-Conservative peddler of tabloid sleaze for various right-wing publishing houses and magazines on the one hand and as a hard-drinking but closeted gay man living in danger. It appeared to me that the person who loaned the book to me seemed to enjoy it merely because of the way it painted conservatives as hypocritical, dangerous to Americas freedom, and uninterested in the truth if it contradicts with a supposed right wing conspiracy, all while seeking to continue the false pretense that nothing similar to this problem exists on the left. Instead of presenting a genuinely worthwhile position, something worth modeling in public discourse or our own private lives, this book seeks to present a tired false dilemma, where the author was on both sides but never came to any sort of worthwhile position that truly comes to terms with the darkness and evil within his own heart, or the full extent of corruption within our body politic, of which this author is a prime example in so many ways.

Brock clearly shows that the worst thing that ever happened to the GOP was the collapse of communism. So when the Soviet Union collapsed, the Republicans looked for new enemies domestically: professional women, gays and the politically correct elitist media culture. Whether he realizes it or not, Brock does an exceptional job of showing the underlying premise as to why the extreme wing of the GOP hates professional women and gays so much: both threaten the dominate male culture. Brock's repetition of how professional women and gays are characterized clearly shows how the same euphemisms are used over and over.

I think that I've had a hard time connecting to politics because coming of age as a political being in the time of Bush is just so surreal most of the time, you look around and all you can think is, "How did we get here?" This book is important to read if you want to answer that question.

David Brock explains the politics of the Republican party as only an insider with good notes could.

I found his insight and commentary into politics of the right verses left very interesting and thought provoking. This book show how David rebelled against liberalism in college and grew into a right wing conservative writer. The book was an interesting look at the inner workings politics in Washington DC and the give and go of the right verses left.

David Brock went from left to right to center and his journey makes a fascinating read.

He started out in professional journalism with a piece in "The Wall Street Journal", that caught the attention of John Podhoretz, who was assigned with starting a magazine for the conservative daily newspaper, "The Washington Times". His prominence in the conservative movement as a journalist got him a job at the American Spectator.

  • English

  • Politics

  • Rating: 3.85
  • Pages: 400
  • Publish Date: February 25th 2003 by Broadway Books
  • Isbn10: 1400047285
  • Isbn13: 9781400047284