Dusty Answer Rosamond Lehmann

Dusty Answer is Judith Earle's storyher solitary childhood spent in the seclusion of her riverside house, her awkward, intense experiences at Cambridge rounded with passion and disillusionment, and...

The Theory of the Leisure Class Thorstein Veblen

Veblen's The Theory of the Leisure Class is in the tradition of Adam Smith's The Wealth of Nations and Thomas Hobbes's Leviathan, yet it provides a surprisingly contemporary look at American econom...

A Grain of Wheat Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o

At the center of it all is the reticent Mugo, the village's chosen hero and a man haunted by a terrible secret.

...

The Shadow of Albion Andre Norton

Thrust into a volatile world where King Henry IX rules over the English Empire, America never revolted, and Napoleon Bonaparte marches unchecked across Europe, is young Sarah Cunningham, ripped fro...

The Starplace Vicki Grove

It's the early 1960s and Frannie has never given much thought to the color of her skin -- until an African-American girl named Celeste moves to town.

...

Queen of Scots: The True Life of Mary Stuart John Guy

A long-overdue and dramatic reinterpretation of the life of Mary, Queen of Scots by one of the leading historians at work today.She was crowned Queen of Scotland at nine months of age, and Queen of...

Life Support Robert Whitlow

She doesn't have a clue what it will do to her heart...and soul.From the Christy-award-winning author of The List, The Trial, and The Sacrifice comes this twisting tale of tough decisions, mixed mo...

The Dawning Judy Griffith Gill

These people, called Talents, are feared and hated by the Normals, who occupy the seats of power in this post-apocalyptic world.

...

A Winter Ballad Barbara Samuel

And yet when she found a fallen knight in a still winter forest, she could not leave him to die.A NOBLE KNIGHTWeary of battle and pursued by assassins, Christian de Moreerx would have liked nothing...

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative David Brock

In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestlers The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the ...

Blood And Soil: A World History of Genocide and Extermination from Sparta to Darfur Ben Kiernan

For thirty years Ben Kiernan has been deeply involved in the study of genocide and crimes against humanity.

His writings have transformed our understanding not only of twentieth-century Cambo...

Private Midnight Kris Saknussemm

Detective Birch Ritter is a man on the edgeof himself.

Then a dubious police buddy he hasnt seen in a year introduces him to a mysterious woman who says her business is shadows.

What sh...

Born to Buy: A Groundbreaking Exposé of a Marketing Culture That Makes Children "Believe They Are What They Own." (USA Today) Juliet B. Schor

Product placement and other innovations have introduced more subtle advertising to movies and television.

Drawing on her own survey research and unprecedented access to the advertising indust...

Monkey Trials and Gorilla Sermons: Evolution and Christianity from Darwin to Intelligent Design Peter J. Bowler

From the beginning, Darwin's dangerous idea of evolution has been a snake in the garden for the church, denounced from pulpits then and now as imcompatible with the central tenets of Christian fait...

Breviario de los vencidos Emil M. Cioran

Breviario de los vencidos, escrito en París entre 1940 y 1946, es el sexto y último libro que Cioran escribió en rumano.

A partir de entonces escribirá todos sus libros en francés.No dej...

Arafat's War: The Man and His Battle for Israeli Conquest Efraim Karsh

Established in 1964 with the goal of liberating Palestine in its entirety, the Palestinian Liberation Organization has for years been fronted by one of its most outspoken and notorious members, Yas...

Million Dollar Habits: Practical, Proven, Power Practices to Double and Triple Your Income Brian Tracy

A guide to winning habits in business shows readers how to set and achieve goals quickly, organize their life, manage time, increase income, and tap inner power reserves--all in the service of impr...

Brideshead Revisited: The Sacred and Profane Memories of Captain Charles Ryder Evelyn Waugh

The most nostalgic and reflective of Evelyn Waugh's novels, Brideshead Revisited looks back to the golden age before the Second World War. It tells the story of Charles Ryder's infatuation with the...

The Anthologist Nicholson Baker

The Anthologist is narrated by Paul Chowder -- a once-in-a-while-published kind of poet who is writing the introduction to a new anthology of poetry.

What unfolds is a wholly entertaining and...

Crystal Vision Gilbert Sorrentino

Through formal inventiveness, Sorrentino liberates these characters from the confines of realism and gives us their world - zany, vulgar, hilarious, and exuberant.

...